Julius Springer Prize for Applied Physics

The Julius Springer Prize for Applied Physics recognizes researchers who have made an outstanding and innovative contribution to the field of applied physics. It has been awarded annually since 1998 by the editors-in-chief of the Springer Journals Applied Physics A – Materials Science & Processing and Applied Physics B – Lasers & Optics. Recent winners have included Roland Wiesendanger, Xiang Zhang, Viktor Malka, Guus Rijnders, Jerome Faist, Leon Chua, Jun Ye, and Richard E. Russo.

Ronald K. Hanson


The 2023 Julius Springer Prize for Applied Physics has been awarded to Prof. Ronald K. Hanson for his pioneering work on laser-based diagnostic methods for combustion and propulsion and his outstanding research on modern shock tube methods for accurate determination of chemical reaction rate parameters, required for modeling combustion and propulsion. His contributions are indispensable to propulsion research and its development world-wide.