EPS-QEOD Travel Grant Student Awards

The EPS-QEOD Board together with the EPS Young Minds are happy to announce EPS-QEOD Travel Grant Student Awards to attend CLEO/Europe-EQEC 2023.

EPS-­QEOD  Travel  Grant  Student  Awards  will be  attributed  on  behalf  of  the  European  Physical  Society   through its Quantum Electronics and Optics Division (QEOD) and Young Minds Action Committee. The   awards   consist   of   travel   grants   and   they   are   given   to   PhD   Students   who   wish   to   attend a QEOD-sponsored conference and whose scientific contribution in optics and photonics is of the highest quality. The goal of this award is to help talented young scientists to contribute to QEOD-sponsored European conferences in optics by taking in charge part of their expenses to the conference. The 2023 CLEO/Europe-EQEC Conference is elligible for these awards.

We are very happy to announce the 2023 EPS-QEOD Travel Grant Student Awards to attend CLEO/Europe-EQEC 2023:

Sameer Ahmad Mir, Indian Institute of Technology Madras, Chennai, India

Myriam Bonduelle, IPAG, Grenoble, France

Sebastian Borówka, University of Warsaw, Warsaw, Poland

Alba de las Heras, Universidad de Salamanca, Salamanca, Spain

Josef, Freudenstein, University of Regensburg, Regensburg, Germany

Ana García-Cabrera, Universidad de Salamanca, Salamanca, Spain

Shreelakshmi Kaniyar, Prasanna Kumar, IISc, Bengaluru, India

Ayaka Koganei, Chiba Institute of Technology, Narashino, Japan

Panagiotis Konstantakis, Foundation for Research and Technology Hellas, Heraklion, Greece

Francesco Manetti, Politecnico di Milano, Milan, Italy

Alasdair Milne, Heriot-Watt University, Edinburgh, United Kingdom

Gianni Q.Moretti, Universidad de Buenos Aires, Buenos Aires, Argentina

Joshua Mornhinweg, University of Regensburg, Regensburg, Germany

José Miguel, Pablos-Marín, Universidad de Salamanca, Salamanca, Spain

Rohit, National Taiwan University, Taipei City, Taiwan

Freya Turley, Cardiff University, Cardiff, United Kingdom

Hsuan-Sen, Wang, National Sun Yat-sen University, Kaohsiung, Taiwan

Maximilian A. Weissflog, Friedrich Schiller University, Jena, Germany

Joanna Wolff, Université de Strasbourg, Strasbourg, France

Zhe Zhang, School of Electrical Engineering, Lausanne, Switzerland

The recipients are cordially invited to attend the EQEC Plenary and Award Ceremony to take place on Tuesday 27 June, 10:30-12:30, Room 1, ICM, Neue Messe Munich, Germany to receive the recognition of their Award and diploma.



  • Number to be defined later.
  • The monetary sums are 500 € for PhD Students working in a European country or 1000 € for PhD Students working outside Europe.
  • All PhD Students wishing to attend the conference are invited to apply. Only thesis students can apply, doctoral positions are not accepted.
  • The monetary amounts will be given by bank transfer after the conference.

Selection criteria

  • The grants will be awarded to PhD Students having not yet defended their thesis at the dates of the QEOD-sponsored conference. Recipients must have an accepted oral or poster contribution at the conference.
  • Only one grant will be awarded per person and per research group. Applicants from developing countries should receive a particular attention.

Application procedure

  • Applications must be made between October 17, 2022 and January 26, 2023 by using the online system of the CLEO/Europe-EQEC conference submission system.
  • There, a special item will point to the EPS-QEOD Travel Grant Student Awards.
  • If you are interested in applying, just tick the corresponding box during the on line submission,
  • Then below this item upload a double-page pdf document (.pdf format) detailing

Page 1:
(i) your name, surname, date of birth,
(ii) your complete affiliation,
(iii) the title and the 35-word abstract of your contribution,
(iv) starting date of the PhD studies and expected date of the PhD defense,
(v) your list of publications limited to the five most significant articles.

Page 2:
(vi) a support letter of the supervisor.

2021 EPS-QEOD Travel Grant Student Awards (Best Student Presentation Awards) to attend CLEO/EuropeEQEC 2021 (virtual format):

Dominik Auth, Technical University, Darmstadt, Germany
Antonio Cutrona, University of Sussex, Brighton, United Kingdom
Alvaro Rodriguez Echarri, ICFO – Institut de Ciències Fotòniques, Barcelona, Spain
Matthew Garett, The University of Sydney, Australia
Aurelian John-Herpin, École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne (EPFL), Lausanne, Switzerland
Lal Krishna A.S., Indian Institute of Science, Bengaluru, India
Shima Rajabali, ETH Zurich, Switzerland
Bartu Şimşek, National Nanotechnology Research Center, Ankara, Turkey
Robyn Tucker, University of Sussex, Brighton, United Kingdom
Simon White, University of Technology Sydney, Ultimo, Australia

2019 EPS-QEOD Travel Grant Student Awards to attend CLEO/Europe-EQEC 2019:

Emil Vosmar Denning, DTU Fotonik, Technical University of Denmark, Lyngby, Denmark
Vinícius C. Ferreira, Universidade Federal do Rio Grande do Sul, Porto Alegre, Brazil
Xin Jin, Institut National de la Recherche Scientifique – Energie, Matériaux et Télécommunications (INRS-EMT), Varennes, Canada
Aleksandrs Leitis, Ecole Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne (EPFL), Lausanne, Switzerland
Ziqi Li, School of Physics, State Key Laboratory of Crystal Materials, Shandong University, Jinan, China
Paulius Mackonis, Solid State Laser laboratory, Department of Laser Technologies, Center for Physical Sciences and Technology, Vilnius, Lithuania
Ahmed Othman, Faculty of Engineering, Ain Shams University, Cairo, Egypt
Dmitrii Pushkarev, Lomonosov Moscow State University, Moscow, Russia
Jérémy Raskop, Laboratoire Kastler Brossel (LKB), Paris, France
Varun Sharma, Physical Research Laboratory, Ahmedabad, Indian Institute of Technology Gandhinagar, India